Across seven media and entertainment acquisitions we checked against primary documents, five buyers printed a synergy figure in the announcement press release itself. One printed a deadline for reaching it. None printed the cost base the figure is measured against, none printed the cost of achieving it, and none put a separate number on revenue synergies. These findings concern the information buyers disclosed at announcement; they do not establish how much of the projected savings the buyers later achieved.
The count, flag by flag
The seven deals are Disney and Twenty-First Century Fox, Discovery and WarnerMedia, Skydance and Paramount, Nexstar and TEGNA, Charter and Cox, Endeavor and WWE (now TKO), and Amazon and MGM. We opened each buyer's announcement release and scored seven disclosure flags. A script computed the totals over the dataset.
A synergy number in the release: 5 of 7. A timeframe: 1 of 7, Charter. A denominator: 0 of 7. Costs to achieve: 0 of 7. A separately quantified revenue synergy: 0 of 7. A statement that the savings would go somewhere other than profit: 2 of 7, Discovery and Charter. A number restated in the closing release: 1 of 7, Disney. One of the five buyers with a number in the release later raised it, Warner Bros. Discovery (Paramount also raised a target that was initially disclosed only in its deck). Amazon never used the word.
What counts as disclosure, and why the unit matters
The unit of record is narrow on purpose. "Named at announcement" means printed in the announcement press release. The investor deck and the analyst call from the same day are recorded separately: they reach a different audience, sit under a different filing status, and are not what a general reader finds in its newsroom. The two documents are often filed within hours of each other, yet they can say different things.
Paramount and Charter show the gap. The Skydance release of 7 July 2024 contains a section headed "Management Team and Synergies", and that section contains no figure. A full-text check of the release finds zero occurrences of "savings", zero of "efficienc", zero of "$2 billion" or "$2bn". The release says instead: "The transaction serves as a catalyst to re-imagine the Company's operating model, transform its technology platform, streamline its organization and accelerate other initiatives already underway." The figure, "$2bn+ run-rate cost efficiencies", appeared in the investor deck and call on 8 July, one day later.
Charter included both an amount and a timeframe in its announcement release. Its release of 16 May 2025 states: "Charter also currently expects approximately $500 million of annualized cost synergies achieved within three years of close - stemming from typical procurement and overhead savings." Amount, basis and timeframe in one sentence. That is the only such sentence in the sample.
The three documents do different work. The press release is the public announcement for a general reader, and in this sample it is where the headline figure appears or does not. The investor deck carries the numbers for analysts: Paramount's deck held the "~7% of the pro forma cost structure" denominator and the $1.6bn cost to achieve that the release omitted. The analyst call, or a later conference appearance, adds oral clarifications: Disney's "by 2021" on the announcement day, and the $35 billion cost base that Discovery's CFO named at a conference three weeks later.
Seven deals, nine columns
The table records what each buyer's announcement release contained. The comparison base is the measure of spending or earnings against which the target is expressed. "Later" and "deck" entries are noted in the cells but do not count toward the flag. Quoted amounts use the buyer's own wording.
| Deal | Announcement date | Amount in release | Timeframe in release | Target type and basis | Comparison base in release | Costs to achieve in release | Separate revenue figure in release | Original target repeated at closing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disney / 21st Century Fox | 14 Dec 2017 | "at least $2 billion in cost savings" | No ("by 2021" only in same-day slides) | Run-rate cost; the words "run-rate" are not in the release | No | No | No | Yes, the only case |
| Discovery / WarnerMedia | 17 May 2021 | "at least $3 billion in expected cost synergies annually" | No (proxy, March 2022) | Run-rate cost savings | No ($35 billion cost base named orally three weeks later) | No (about $1.5 billion in the March 2022 proxy) | No, explicitly excluded | No; closing release does not contain the word "synergy" |
| Skydance / Paramount | 7 Jul 2024 | No figure in release | No | Not stated in release | No (deck: ~7% of pro forma cost structure) | No (deck: $1.6bn) | No | No |
| Nexstar / TEGNA | 19 Aug 2025 | "annual net synergies of approximately $300 million" | No (deck: first twelve months) | Annual net, on 2025 estimates | No (deck: ~37% of EBITDA) | No; deck says they are inside transaction expenses | No, blended into the net figure | No |
| Charter / Cox | 16 May 2025 | "approximately $500 million of annualized cost synergies" | Yes: "within three years of close" | Annualized cost | No | No (DEFM14A seven weeks later) | No | No |
| Endeavor / WWE (TKO) | 3 Apr 2023 | "$50 million to $100 million in annualized run rate cost synergies" | No timeframe found in the documents reviewed | Annualized run rate | No | No | No, words only | No; closing release contains no dollar figure |
| Amazon / MGM | 26 May 2021 | Word "synergy" absent from release | No | None | No | No | No | No |
Disney / 21st Century Fox
Announcement date: 14 Dec 2017
Amount in release: "at least $2 billion in cost savings"
Timeframe in release: No ("by 2021" only in same-day slides)
Target type and basis: Run-rate cost; the words "run-rate" are not in the release
Comparison base in release: No
Costs to achieve in release: No
Separate revenue figure in release: No
Original target repeated at closing: Yes, the only case
Discovery / WarnerMedia
Announcement date: 17 May 2021
Amount in release: "at least $3 billion in expected cost synergies annually"
Timeframe in release: No (proxy, March 2022)
Target type and basis: Run-rate cost savings
Comparison base in release: No ($35 billion cost base named orally three weeks later)
Costs to achieve in release: No (about $1.5 billion in the March 2022 proxy)
Separate revenue figure in release: No, explicitly excluded
Original target repeated at closing: No; closing release does not contain the word "synergy"
Skydance / Paramount
Announcement date: 7 Jul 2024
Amount in release: No figure in release
Timeframe in release: No
Target type and basis: Not stated in release
Comparison base in release: No (deck: ~7% of pro forma cost structure)
Costs to achieve in release: No (deck: $1.6bn)
Separate revenue figure in release: No
Original target repeated at closing: No
Nexstar / TEGNA
Announcement date: 19 Aug 2025
Amount in release: "annual net synergies of approximately $300 million"
Timeframe in release: No (deck: first twelve months)
Target type and basis: Annual net, on 2025 estimates
Comparison base in release: No (deck: ~37% of EBITDA)
Costs to achieve in release: No; deck says they are inside transaction expenses
Separate revenue figure in release: No, blended into the net figure
Original target repeated at closing: No
Charter / Cox
Announcement date: 16 May 2025
Amount in release: "approximately $500 million of annualized cost synergies"
Timeframe in release: Yes: "within three years of close"
Target type and basis: Annualized cost
Comparison base in release: No
Costs to achieve in release: No (DEFM14A seven weeks later)
Separate revenue figure in release: No
Original target repeated at closing: No
Endeavor / WWE (TKO)
Announcement date: 3 Apr 2023
Amount in release: "$50 million to $100 million in annualized run rate cost synergies"
Timeframe in release: No timeframe found in the documents reviewed
Target type and basis: Annualized run rate
Comparison base in release: No
Costs to achieve in release: No
Separate revenue figure in release: No, words only
Original target repeated at closing: No; closing release contains no dollar figure
Amazon / MGM
Announcement date: 26 May 2021
Amount in release: Word "synergy" absent from release
Timeframe in release: No
Target type and basis: None
Comparison base in release: No
Costs to achieve in release: No
Separate revenue figure in release: No
Original target repeated at closing: No
All documents opened on 17 and 18 September 2026. Text in quotation marks is copied from the company document linked or named in the same cell; everything else is our reading of those documents.
The notes identify disclosures in other documents; those details do not count as disclosures in the announcement release. The amount column is nearly full, the timeframe column has one entry, and the comparison base, costs-to-achieve and revenue columns are empty. How much of a stated figure typically reaches cash is a different question, treated in our review of synergy capture rates by industry; here the question is what was put on paper on day one.
Five findings, each with the source wording
1. A section about synergies can contain no quantified target
The Skydance release has a heading with the word in it and no number beneath. The figure surfaced in the 8 July 2024 deck as "$2bn+ run-rate cost efficiencies". The deck also supplied a denominator: "Run-rate cost efficiencies represent ~7% of the pro forma cost structure of New Paramount". It specified a cost to achieve: "Aggregate restructuring and integration costs to achieve plan of $1.6bn". It also described the pace: "Accelerated delivery of savings (~50%+ delivered by Year 1)". Each of those items was absent from the release the day before.
2. Only one announcement release gives a timeframe
Only Charter printed a deadline in the release. Disney's release said "at least $2 billion in cost savings" without a year. The phrase "$2B of annual cost savings by 2021" was in the 425 slides and on the call the same day. It appeared in a Disney release only on 20 June 2018, six months after announcement. Discovery's deadline, "by the end of the second full year following the completion of the Transactions", first appears in the proxy of 4 March 2022, ten months after the deal. Endeavor's release for WWE has no timeframe: no "12 month", no "18 month", no "by 2024" or "by 2025". No later timeframe was found in the documents reviewed.
3. Nobody gives a denominator in the release; the deck sometimes does
Zero of seven releases said what the synergy figure is a share of. Two decks did. Paramount's "~7% of the pro forma cost structure" is one. Nexstar's August 2025 investor deck carries a table row reading "Synergies as a % of EBITDA" against "~37%". Discovery's announcement release did not print a denominator. Its CFO gave one orally at an Evercore conference on 7 June 2021, three weeks after the announcement: "the combined operation is a $35 billion cost base… And the $3 billion synergy target needs to be seen in that context". The proxy of March 2022 later recorded target management or financial advisers' estimates putting the target at roughly 25% of pro forma G&A and roughly 25% of global marketing. Without such an anchor a reader cannot tell whether a figure is ambitious or routine. The discussion of M&A synergy modeling explains how these missing inputs affect a financial model.
4. No announcement release gives a separate revenue synergy figure
Zero of seven. Discovery's CFO, 7 June 2021: "we haven't quantified anything. It's not in the $3 billion guidance." Disney's CEO on the announcement call, 14 December 2017: "On the revenue front, we're not getting specific about that." Nexstar blended revenue into one net figure, "from a combination of revenue synergies and net operating expense reductions". The primary documents reviewed here give no separate amount for revenue synergies.
TKO's prospectus distinguishes WWE management's revenue projections from the buyer's announcement guidance. The Endeavor release described revenue benefits in words only. The 424B3 prospectus of 22 August 2023 contains WWE management's estimates, which are the target's projections and not the buyer's guidance: revenue synergies of $441 million by 2027 against cost synergies of $58 million, 7.6 times larger. Neither number appeared in the announcement. The same filing nets costs to achieve inside the cost synergy line, so gross and net cannot be compared. Revenue that leaves after a deal is the subject of our piece on dis-synergies; the point here is that the announcement gave no revenue figure in either direction.
5. Later targets do not always restate the original figure
Warner Bros. Discovery announced "at least $3 billion" on 17 May 2021. Its Q3 2022 release of 3 November 2022 stated: "driving synergy enterprise-wide, increasing our target to at least $3.5 billion". Its Q2 2023 release of 3 August 2023 referred to "our now increased synergy target of more than $5 billion". Each step stated the new number. None restated the original beside it.
Paramount did. Its Q3 2025 release of 10 November 2025 spoke of "achieving at least $3 billion in run-rate efficiencies, representing an increase of at least $1 billion over our original target outlined at the time of the deal announcement in 2024". That is the only sentence in the sample where a company set its new target against its old one in its own words. The program total has since been stated as "$3 billion-plus in efficiencies through 2027", and the Q4 2025 release of 25 February 2026 placed an interim marker beside it: "We are firmly on track to deliver at least $3 billion in efficiencies through 2027, with more than $2.5 billion in run-rate efficiencies expected by the end of 2026." The Q2 2026 release of 4 August 2026 raised that interim marker: "we now expect to deliver over $2.7 billion of run-rate efficiencies by the end of 2026 versus $2.5 billion previously, and continue to expect $3 billion-plus in efficiencies from the Skydance-Paramount combination". The $2.7 billion and the $3 billion measure different horizons, run-rate by the end of 2026 against the program through 2027, so one does not replace the other.
Disney discussed its target in earnings-call transcripts and a proxy statement. On 6 August 2019, Disney stated: "Over $2 billion in cost synergies by fiscal 2021". Its January 2020 proxy said: "now forecasting to meaningfully exceed, the $2 billion cost synergies to which the Company initially committed". On 12 November 2020, Disney stated: "we did meet - actually, we exceeded that $2 billion number". No 10-K for fiscal 2019, 2020 or 2021 states the realized total.
Reading someone else's announcement
In this sample, three questions are left open by the announcement document. What spending or earnings base is the target measured against? When does the buyer expect to reach the target? What implementation costs does the buyer expect to incur? The release answered the second question once and the first and third never. Where answers exist in this sample, they sit in the deck, the call transcript, the proxy or the prospectus.
A fourth item is easy to miss: whether the figure is a cut to current or to planned spending. Discovery's CFO addressed this on 24 February 2022, describing "an assumption of very significant cost increase in partly overlapping areas" and adding, "That could easily make up for half of the total cost synergy potential here". Half of a headline figure, on the company's own account, was cost avoidance rather than cost reduction. The announcement release did not disclose the distinction between the two.
The last question is where the money goes. Two of seven releases said. Discovery's release framed the $3 billion as funds "to increase its investment in content and digital innovation, and to scale its global DTC business". Charter's release listed "Offer Cox customers the choice to pay less for new Spectrum bundled services". Its CEO said on 25 July 2025 that the company would "reinvest the transaction synergies from a CapEx perspective back into additional network capabilities". Paramount said nothing similar at announcement, then in its Q3 2025 release paired the raised target with "incremental programming investments in 2026 in excess of $1.5 billion". A synergy redirected to price, content or network operates differently than margin expansion, and only two announcements disclosed which path they were describing.
Method and limits
The dataset holds seven deals from media, entertainment, local broadcasting, cable and live sports. Every entry was taken from the buyer's press release on its own domain, from SEC filings (Forms 8-K, 425, 424B3, DEFM14A, DEF 14A and 10-K), or from official transcripts on the company's investor relations site. No news coverage was used as a source. On 17 September 2026 a script opened twelve key documents, located each quoted passage in the live text, and ran the negative checks (the absence of "synergy" or of a figure) against the same text. On 18 September 2026 a separate pass covered Paramount Skydance: every Form 8-K filed by the issuer (CIK 2041610) in 2025 and 2026 was checked, and the Q4 2025 results release of 25 February 2026 was added as the primary source for the interim target for year-end 2026. One trap: SEC documents insert non-breaking hyphens inside words such as "run‑rate", so source and search string were both normalized before matching.
Seven deals are not industry statistics. Nothing here supports a claim about how media buyers in general behave; the tallies describe these seven announcements only. Estimates drawn from a DEFM14A or 424B3 are the work of financial advisers or of the target's management and are labeled as such above; they are not the buyer's guidance. "Not disclosed" means not present in the primary documents we opened, which are the ones linked or named on this page. The closing dates for Charter and Cox (19 August 2026) and for Nexstar and TEGNA (19 March 2026) come from the 8-K filings available at the snapshot date.
Frequently asked questions
Does an undisclosed synergy figure mean no benefits are expected?
No. Amazon's announcement that "Amazon will acquire MGM for a purchase price of $8.45 billion" contains no occurrence of "synergy" or "cost savings". The release describes the asset instead: "The real financial value behind this deal is the treasure trove of IP in the deep catalog that we plan to reimagine and develop together with MGM's talented team". The closing announcement of 17 March 2022 also carried no dollar figure. These documents describe the acquisition's expected benefits without assigning them a quantified synergy target.
Why does "run-rate" matter?
Because it names the basis, not the deadline. A run-rate or annualized figure is the annual saving once the program is fully in effect; it says nothing about when that point is reached. Endeavor's WWE release promised "$50 million to $100 million in annualized run rate cost synergies" with no date. Charter's release is the counter-example: "annualized" for the basis and "within three years of close" for the clock, in the same sentence.
Do companies confirm the synergy figure at closing?
In this sample, once in seven. Here, confirmation means repetition of the target; it does not establish that the projected savings were achieved. Disney's closing release of 20 March 2019 repeated the target: "…and to yield at least $2 billion in cost synergies by 2021 from operating efficiencies realized through the combination of businesses." The other six closing documents were silent on the figure. Discovery's closing release does not contain the word. Paramount's closing 8-K has no "savings", "synergies" or "efficiencies". Nexstar's closing release mentions synergies only in risk language, while a separate exhibit filed the same day carries a higher figure of $344 million on an 18-month horizon. Charter and TKO carried synergies only in forward-looking risk statements.


